2016 National Teachers Law School

Presented in partnership with the National Constitution Center 

Date: Friday, September 30 - Saturday, October 1, 2016
Location: National Constitution Center in Philadelphia

This fall, 45 leaders in civics education will join us at the National Teachers Law School for a crash course in engaging civics and government topics, presented by informed and passionate legal experts, educators, and members of the bench and bar. 

Download: News Release

Program Objectives:

  • Provide invaluable instruction on core civics concepts and education law from notable speakers.
  • Create an understanding and appreciation for the Teachers Law School curriculum in order to generate support for local Teachers Law School programs across the country.
  • Foster a meeting of passionate social studies teachers and administrators with the goal of transforming the attendees into ambassadors for civics education.

Featured Sessions:

  • Fostering Civic Participation in the Wake of Tragedy
  • The Bill of Rights in Action and Civil Dialogue in the Classroom
  • The American Jury – Guardian of our Rights
  • Dissent: The History of an American Idea
  • What Students Should Know About the Constitution
  • Do We Check the Constitution at the Classroom Door?

Download: Full Program Agenda

National Teachers Law School Participants:

  • Sadie Adams, Portland Public Schools (OR)
  • Jennifer Brown, D.C. Public Schools (Washington, D.C.)
  • Valerie Cochara, Fordland R-III School District (MO)
  • Dr. Carol Coe, Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (WA)
  • Mellessa Denny, Amarillo ISD (TX)
  • Edward Dorgan, Regional School District #10 (CT)
  • Gretchen Gaskins, Alief ISD (TX)
  • Donald E. Gifford, Kansas State Department of Education (KS)
  • Dr. Rachel Hendrix, Liberty County School System (GA)
  • Erin Howe, Marion County Public Schools (FL)
  • Donna Jacobson, Public Policy Charter School (CA)
  • Kevin Kane, Morris Hills Regional District (NJ)
  • James Kearney, Radnor Township School District (PA)
  • Deborah Keen, Frisco ISD (TX)
  • Christy Kessler, Catholic High School (LA)
  • Janis Kyser, TN Center for Civic Learning Engagement (TN)
  • Tim Lambrecht, Ithaca Public Schools (MI)
  • Philip Little, Duval County Public Schools (FL)
  • Jayne Malorni, Clark County School District (NV)
  • Chris Mauthe, North Clackamas School District (OR)
  • Kris McDaniel, WI Department of Public Instruction (WI)
  • Valerie McVey, FL Joint Center for Citizenship (FL)
  • Kadie L. Patterson, TN Department of Education (TN)
  • Harris Payne, NE Department of Education (NE)
  • Jesse Pittard, Wayne County Schools (NC)
  • Sarah Pugh, Bentonville Public Schools (AR)
  • William Reese, Spokane Public Schools (WA)
  • Graham Rutherford, Cardinal Newman High School (CA)
  • Jose J. Saenz, Region One Education Service Center (TX)
  • Josue D. Sakata, Boston Public Schools (MA)
  • Kim Schiller, The International School of Minnesota (MN)
  • Jamie Shaw, Anoka-Hennepin School District (MN)
  • Mary Skelly, CT Technical High Schools (CT)
  • Kathleen Smith, Community College of Philadelphia (PA)
  • RaeLynne Snyder, Baltimore City Public Schools (MD)
  • James Sparks, Oklahoma City Public Schools (OK)
  • Dr. Khalifa Stanford, Miami-Dade County Public Schools (FL)
  • Monique L. Stansell, Dallas ISD (TX)
  • Ryan Stough, Los Angeles County Office of Education (CA)
  • Lauren Tompkins, Cumberland Regional District (NJ)
  • Scott VanTatenhove, Poudre School District (CO)
  • James Vera, Oswego School District (IL)
  • Rob Vicario, Orange County Department of Education (CA)
  • Stefanie Wager, Iowa Department of Education (IA)
  • Tammy Waller, Arizona Department of Education (AZ)

Thank you to our generous sponsors:


And special thanks to the members, firms and chapters that supported our golf tournament in January! 

Thank you to the participating chapters of ABOTA for their sponsorships:

Arkansas Chapter
Colorado Chapter
Dallas Chapter
Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter
Jacksonville Chapter
Miami Chapter
Minnesota Chapter
North Carolina (Eastern) Chapter
North Carolina (Western) Chapter
Oklahoma Chapter
Orange County Chapter
Oregon Chapter
San Francisco Chapter
Southeastern Georgia Chapter
Southern New Jersey Chapter
Washington Chapter

Video: Find out more about the National Teachers Law School 

For more information:
(214) 871-7523